OSAF Member Shaun Harkins is 2021 Fellow Award winner

During the 2021 Society of American Foresters National Convention, OSAF member Shaun Harkins, CF, received the Fellow Award from the Society of American Foresters.

Shaun is a timber sale contract administrator forester with the Bureau of Land Management; he has also worked for Weyerhaeuser, Plum Creek, and International Paper. He is chair of the Coos SAF Chapter and has served on the Oregon Department of Forestry’s Southwest Oregon Regional Forest Practices Committee.

Congratulations Shaun for outstanding contributions and service to the Society of American Foresters and the forestry profession!

Recognizing the Veterans in Our Community

On this day, we want to thank all of the Veterans that served our country, along with their families.  Without your sacrifice, we would not have the freedoms we do today.  We are honored and lucky to have you as part of Washington’s forestry community. 

Washington State Society of American Foresters

Upcoming Western Forester to feature AKSAF member

In the fall issue of the Western Forester, William Putman, CF, shares his experiences as a consultant forester with the Tanana Chiefs Conference. Stay tuned for the issue, which will be out soon!

Samantha Chang recognized as District 1 Field Forester

Each year the Society of American Foresters honors one member from each of the 11 SAF voting districts with the Presidential Field Forester Award for 2021. This award recognizes foresters who have dedicated their professional careers to the application of forestry using sound scientific methods and adaptive management strategies. 
This year, WSSAF member Samantha Chang was recognized for her achievements! Samantha is the chair of the North Puget Sound SAF chapter and previously served as secretary for WSSAF.

WOWNET is featured in Western Forester

Did you know that WOWNet, the nationwide Women Owning Woodlands Network, began in Oregon? Check out the latest Western Forester to learn more.


© By Forestry.org.  All Rights Reserved.