Each year at the annual meeting, WSSAF presents awards to recognize members and local chapters for their accomplishments.

Forester of the Year

  • To be presented annually to a member of the Washington State Society of American Foresters selected to be recognized by his/her peers for contributing to both the profession and the public through application of his/her professional skills to the advancement of forestry in Washington State and through public service that benefits his/her community or some larger segment of society.  The selection committee is made up of the five (5) previous Foresters of the Year with their chair being the most recent recipient.

Chapter of the Year

  • To be presented to a Washington State Society Chapter which has made extraordinary achievements in membership, service to members, community service, and chapter management and participated in forest policy and legislation in the preceding year.  Chapters are required to submit achievement data for the preceding year to qualify for the award.

Nomination Form

The deadline for the 2022 awards is March 15, 2022.

WSSAF Annual Awards Nomination Form (PDF)

Past Award Winners

Chapter of the Year – South Puget Sound Chapter

Forester of the Year – Loren Hiner

Past Chair Award – Joe Murra

Chapter of the Year – Mid-Columbia Chapter 

Forester of the Year – Paula Hopkins

Golden Members – Wade Boyd, Michael Jackson, Gerald Monahan, Robert Chicken, John Helm, and Dean DeBell

Chapter of the Year – South Puget Sound Chapter

Forester of the Year – Adrian Miller

Golden Members – James Hertel, Richard Pierson, and Robert Wiggins

Forester of the Year – Harry Bell

Outreach Award – North Olympic Chapter 

  • For their efforts in organizing an extremely well attended tour of biomass operations. Not only was this field tour attended by members, but also local elected officials and members of the environmental community.

Chapter of the Year – North Puget Sound Chapter

  • Recognizing their efforts in putting on an excellent annual meeting in 2010 despite trying economic times. This award also recognizes their outreach efforts to our fellow forestry professionals in Canada, 10 of whom attended the annual meeting.

Forester of the Year Award – John Walkowiak

  • Among his many accomplishments over the last year, John was instrumental in leading the effort to revitalize the WSSAF Foundation including a fund raising campaign that allowed the foundation to meet its financial benchmark allowing for the distribution of the Foundations first scholarship. As past Chair, John continues to be an active participant within WSSAF, always willing to help out on the Society’s efforts.

© By Forestry.org.  All Rights Reserved.